Alteryx and visual presentation of data

Alteryx has enhanced their productline with a new software release called Visualytics. From my reading on Fool forums the visual presentation of data has been a limiting factor with Alteryx. If i recall correctly this was an area that Tableau excelled at compared to AYX? This new product shows that AYX was aware of this limitation and are moving to address it. As a former biomedical researcher I am aware of how important visualizing/presenting your data in a graphically meaningful way is. This should help increase utilization as it brings more processes under a single product… having to move from one product to another from cleansing, analysis, to visual representation is not ideal. In my mind i would love the thought of using one vendors product from start of process to finish.

https://finance.yahoo.com/news/alteryx-enhances-analytic-jou…

15 Likes

It’s not that visual presentation of data has been a limiting factor for Alteryx, it wasn’t really the point of their tools. What Alteryx is providing is a visual tool for building a data analysis workflow. In the designer you have your data sources on the left and your goal - clean, machine-learning-ready data set on the far right. In between you plot all the steps you have to take to get from “dirty” data to “clean” data. What you would typically do in these steps is things like combining data sources, converting data from text to a common format (like for common date-time format or common decimal separator), removing duplicates, combining your data with comon world data like with adding distances between your locations etc. This is called “data prep” - the area of data science where Alteryx has got no competitor.