Anurag Gupta

Anurag,

Was impressed with your posting history and profile. Wish I could send you an email directly, but have to settle for a forum post.

Do you still follow this investing method outlined in your profile?

How I Invest

I practice the tmf1000 method of investing: buy and sell in stages with few exceptions. I try to keep my portfolio turnover to less than 5% annually. Buying in stages allows me to grow my best bets in a risk adjusted manner.

JC, You can send him an email directly. Reply to one of his posts and then check the box that says “Email the Reply to the Author”. The default is to “Post this reply to the boards” which you may want to uncheck.

Hi JC

Yes, I have been using this method for about 10 years now. Going forward, I am trying to reduce my sells even further. On a dollar based churn, I am probably at 2% annual level (dollar amount moved from one investment to another) for the entire portfolio. The 5% churn is the ticker churn since I have 250+ stocks. This amounts to < 13 stocks sold annually whose net dollar value is < 2% of my entire portfolio. Essentially very little selling. The only exception is options trading where sells are timebound. The amazing thing is that I sell so infrequently and so little and yet when I look back it is clear that not indulging in any of those sells would have been even better. So selling is quite injurious to portfolio in general. Every once in a while i have big time losers and it is ok to have them since we also end up keeping big winners this way. One can only lose 100% but there is no limit to the upside. This asymmetry is pretty profound.

I discriminate between my stocks not by selling but by choosing which stock to add more capital.

Anurag

4 Likes

Hi Mr. Gupta,

It is good to see you here!