Blackstone BX

My story is that I’m 86 and still going strong but find that my analyzing skills are getting more difficult to understand. I’ve been investing for about 15 years but really started enjoying the returns after finding Saul’s board. Now I really like my portfolio. But at 86, I think it’s about time to put some of my profits into something that has a good return and maybe not so volatile. Enter Blackstone Group, symbol BX. It was recommended by an ex broker friend of mine. After looking at the numbers they look pretty good. Fee earning assets under management were $277 billion and dry powder was $101 billion. (I really don’t understand what dry powder means.) They have more cash than debt, an A-plus credit rating and a remarkable ability to borrow cheaply. In October it raised 600 million euros ($640 million) at 1% interest for 10 years. Their selling price is $32.58 and a price target of $40.00 and eps of 9.9%.There is a great article on the company in Barons titled Blackstone Units Have 40% Upside and Yields More Than 8%. If you’re interested just Google it and it comes right up.
I know with all the intelligence here if some of you could respond it would be appreciated.
Thanks.

Gayle

4 Likes

Gayle - Blackstone who I have had direct experience of are utter class. Completely elite in the fields of PE/Investment banking, they make Goldman Sachs look like high street retail bankers.

Bx have been featuring in my portfolio reviews this year as well as recent Q1 earning reviews if you want to check back and I have been topping up in the last few months. BX really hit the jackpot in Saudi last week as well.

I like and hold. Forget about the $40 target - their management reckons they will be $100 in 3 years.

Ant

2 Likes

Gayle- put BX in the ticker or keyword box on this page. There is a good article by the Fool and it explains what dry powder is. Thanks for bringing this to my attention.
Bruce