Caught Looking

Note 1) I am an amateur investor. That should tell you all you need to know.

I have been looking over ABNB for a while now. When it went public I remember one of the especially prestigious Tech gurus saying they would love to have it but that the valuation was simply ridiculous. I took her/his/whatever word for it. But that was then and this is now.

In baseball if you get called out via a third strike without swinging they call that “Caught Looking”.

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&…

Thats exactly what happened to me today with ABNB

Airbnb, Inc

Everybody knows what ABNB is and what it does.

A Few Data Points:

Current Price: $103.51
Range: 92.09 - 212.58
About 51% Below its High
About 12.4% Above its Low
Market Cap: $61B Give or Take
EV/Revenue: 8.94
YTD Momentum: -40.6%

Here are ABNB’s last 4 QTRS of Revenue Growth:

Most Recent First: +70.13%; +78.3; 67.2%; +300%

Everybody also knows that the Pandemic severely impacted the company.

Note 2: My interest in ABNB has little to do with those numbers.

ABNB last reported on May 3 with FQ1 2022 and the CC Transcript is here:

https://seekingalpha.com/article/4506566-airbnb-inc-s-abnb-c…

Here is the headline and market reaction subsequent to the report:

https://seekingalpha.com/news/3831469-airbnb-pops-after-sale…

Here are a few Highlights:

• The company reported that gross booking value soared 67% to $17.2B from a year ago.

• Revenue was up 70% to $1.5B. The company said the strong revenue growth was driven by the combination of growth in Nights and Experiences Booked, and continued strength in ADR, despite the ongoing pandemic, the war in Ukraine, and macroeconomic headwinds.

• Adjusted EBITDA was positive at $229M vs. -$59M in 2021 and -$248M in 2019.

• Long-term stays more than doubled and were at a record high.

Note 3) My interest in ABNB has little to do with those numbers.

Commentary from the Conference Call: