DataDog and Alteryx - relative valuation

I’m long both DataDog and Alteryx. DataDog’s valuation is extreme. That doesn’t mean it’s not a good investment. The opportunity and results are also amazing. I’m long DataDog because I think that this company will dominate a huge market, and a few years from now the current price will seem very cheap.

However, I only have purchased a starter position in DataDog. I am a bit wary of DataDog’s high p/s ratio. I do think Saul’s reasoning is sound as to “this time being different”, but I also feel a bit of trepidation. I’m not particularly business savvy (I am a humble middle school teacher after all), and the current price does trigger a certain heuristic within me concerning overvaluation. That’s a big contributing factor to my reticence towards building a large position right away. I want to scale into the name.

But the bigger reason I am not building my DataDog position too fast is because at current prices it is hard for me to justify putting money into DataDog when I could buy Alteryx instead. My Alteryx position has been growing and has ballooned to 33% of my portfolio. I know that’s a huge allocation, but keep in mind that I am young and accumulating, and the position is not much bigger than what I would plan to add in contributions to my account next year. I think DataDog could be a home run purchase right now, but Alteryx may be a grand slam.

Here’s the way I see things.

Alteryx revenue September 2019: 103,397
Alteryx revenue September 2018: 62,589
y/y growth: 65.2%
Alteryx Sept 2019 gross profit: 93,752
Gross Margin: 90.7

DataDog revenue September 2019: 95,864
DataDog revenue September 2018: 51,074
y/y growth: 87.7
DataDog Sept 2019 gross profit: 72,567
Gross Margin: 75.7