Experienced, Need your help whether I am right

Experienced, Need your help whether I am right or wrong.

First, let me introduce myself. I started trading experience between 2005 to 2008 with $5000. Every year, consistently made loss, max $2000, and filed tax loss.

Stopped from stocks for sometime 2008 to 2012,but invested in real estate. This gave me 235% return over my initial investment, increased my wealth and providing me good capital cash flow.

Then, came to fool.com, read systematic news analysis, books to make myself educated on trading.

From 2011 onwards, based on my friends suggestion, started trading with $200k my 401k SDA money. 20% gain in 2013, 10% gain 2014 and now 25% gain in 2015 so far. It is pure trading on tech sectors being at silicon valley. All I understand is this is trading,speculating but not investing.

Based on many investing feedback from fool members, financial planners suggestions and many books suggestion, I set aside another 200k with mutual funds since Jan 2015. Funds are HACAX, RERGX, DODBX , RWIGX, FSEMX and BPSIX. They are almost equally distributed and not yet re-balanced.

Unfortunately, it is not going anywhere but 5% to 7%.

Now, I am kind of confused whether I am doing right or wrong on speculating or trading or investing.

1 Like

Now, I am kind of confused whether I am doing right or wrong on speculating or trading or investing.

Hi jiltin,

I’m not really sure what you’re asking. I’m guessing others don’t either since you haven’t gotten any responses. :wink: