He who has the most data wins

I listened to a podcast this week with Cathy Wood of Ark funds and something she said resonated with me. She was talking about Tesla specifically and said that the reason she thinks they will win the self driving car race is that they have (and will continue to have in the future) significantly more data than any competitor. Even though their cars are not fully autonomous yet, they are still getting tons of data from them that they are analyzing and learning from and using to improve. No other company has anywhere close to the data they have and no one will for a long time. She gave a similar argument for NVTA in the area of genomic sequencing.

It made me think about the companies discussed here and which ones have a similar “data advantage”.

CRWD is one that comes to mind. I’m not an expert, but from what I understand since they have such a large lead in the type of security cloud they are offering, anyone who tries to copy the idea and compete against them will struggle to deliver the same quality of product because they will have significantly less data available because of starting with a much smaller market share. It’s the data that enables the product to be better.

Other similar examples are LVGO/TDOC and GH. GH especially has way more data than any competitors. Part of their moat is that they have over 100k blood samples from previous studies that they can use to mine for additional data as they progress into additional tests. This can vastly accelerate their current and future research. The company refers to it as a “Force Multiplier”.

38 Likes