Here's what I think about AYX...

I have been following this board for about an year and this is my first post. I want to thank the contributors of this board and a special thanks to Saul.

Here’s what I think about AYX…

About myself: I’m a developer in the Seattle area and have worked for 14 years with one the greatest software company in the world ( you can guess it :)) developing some of the core software products/services with millions of users worldwide.

My expertise differs from Saul et al. in that I’m a hard core developer but very poor with business numbers ( i still don’t understand gaap vs non-gaap very well).

Having said that. Here’s why I like AYX.

A simple example without any technical jargon: A couple of years back i wanted to find out how many users out a total number were likely to return to use a service ( aka churn). To explain in the simplest terms here’s what I did.

1. Load the user data from multiple log files from many front-end servers to a no-sql DB.

2. Extract and schematize the unstructured data.

3. Persist that data in some DB ( can be relational.)

4. Run a pipeline to create historical data for some days (maybe months) so that we can have a range.

5. MOST Painstaking: Try to create some correlation using all the historical data from the above steps. This step brings in the infamous slow JOINs that no one likes (I’ll talk about MDB later someday ).

6. Load the data into a tool for some insights/analysis ( tools lile Tableau/Power BI)
    [Most of the folks would be happy at this stage to glean important insights into their data.]

7. BUT SOME STILL WANT MORE: How can all that historical data be of any use to us? How can we keep our customers? Which customer base looks the most attractive for our new feature? We need ML/AI?