Just checking: Saul vs DG

Just checking on simple math re Saul vs DG:

I started this post to ask why Saul is so revered for his constant cultivating, while David Gardner’s untended picks on Stock advisor are up - what initially seemed a mammoth - 600% since 2002. But in the course of asking the question I did some simple math - which wasn’t self-evident to me as I’m relatively new to this - and had an epiphany, and just want to make sure I’m right -

Saul seems to have averaged around 25% for decades. So in this same period of time (2002 'til today), Saul would be up…like, 3000+%? Whereas DG would seem to have averaged 12% a year…is my math close to right? If so…um…has anyone out there attained the knack Saul has, which, from his descriptions of his decision making, seem somewhat intuitive at this point - like he didn’t like the tone of one phone call, or another one was euphoric…

I just today heard DG’s idea of never more than 5% in one stock, although I know my father believes in 10 - but being relatively new, I had lots of very small things…anyway, thoughts for someone relatively new to this? PS I actually have kind of a lot invested (well, a lot for me), so am not in the mood to experiment too much. Thanks

4 Likes

I am pretty sure Saul has a time machine.

Cheers
Qazulight

8 Likes

Hi Croesus,

You could take a look at Saul’s knowledge base to get grounded and more information on his returns. He has modified his approach through the years, but its worth a look:

https://discussion.fool.com/knowledgebase-newly-revised-part-1-3…

As for the allocation, it sounds to me that DG is shifting towards a more concentrated portfolio from his recent Rulebreaker podcast. Strictly speaking, he said that he would not initially invest more than 5%, but would add to the stock later with further positive developments.

Now for your comment:

I actually have kind of a lot invested (well, a lot for me), so am not in the mood to experiment too much.