Limelight, FSLY, and NET

I’m not a techie, but when I stumbled upon Limelight Networks (LLNW), I saw that they have some similarities to FSLY and NET…

Caveat: I’m not a techie. This may be like comparing rocks to nuclear warheads. But LLNW has an “Edge” product and a CDN and everything. Seems that they’re in a similar business, but obviously they must be way behind in the tech.

…but unlike FSLY and NET which trade at trailing PS ratios between 30 and 50, LLNW trades at a PS ratio of roughly 3. That’s right, it’s one tenth as expensive. It’s growth is also much, much slower, so the valuation makes sense. But I just thought I’d watch them, and I have been. Today they reported Q3, and they reduced their EPS guidance for the year. Didn’t raise revenue guidance either. I sold LLNW.

…But aslo, I have sold most of FSLY position and reduced my NET position. I’m just not sure edge networks are able to differentiate themselves enough to really enjoy hypergrowth. If any of them have a shot, it’s probably NET. It’s doing a million impressive things, like Stocknovice pointed out here: https://discussion.fool.com/cloudflare39s-crushing-it-34646557.a…

But NET is growing at under 50% and being priced like they’re growing at 60% or 70% or more. Will they accelerate? I don’t know.

I’m rolling with 5% NET and 1% FSLY and 0% LLNW.

Bear

53 Likes

Bear,

This too is my problem with FSLY and NET. And, fundamentally, they both share what I consider an inherent problem with companies like CSCO and ANET. They’re all infrastructure plays. They all make widgets which are hard to differentiate from their competitors, and, as a result, it’s hard to predict their futures.