LMND, TDOC T.T

I’m a beginner in investing. I followed Rule Breaker’s advice since 2020 and put a big amount of money on LMND, ZILLOW, TDOC, and now I’m at 70-80% loss.
What should I do with these stocks now? Esp. Fool.com recently put some of them in the penalty box. What does penalty box even mean? Should I keep buying to balance out the loss?
Those companies still seem to have long-term potential and I’m okay to keep them in the next few years. Just don’t know if I should put more money into them or should I ignore and focus on other stocks.
thanks so much for any advice!

2 Likes

A couple of things.

1. Following someone’s investment advice can be difficult - especially if you don’t understand the advice being given.

2. The RB and other high growth / momentum strategies can be difficult for new investors as these companies can be hard to value.

Suggestion (not advice!) - stick with index funds, and then when you understand how to value a business pick ones that are much easier.

tecmo

6 Likes

lanale,

In addition to the losses on your stock purchases, you need to add the money you wasted --err, spent-- on a subscription to RB. Instead, you should have bought a used copy of Ben Graham’s intro to value investing, The Intelligent Investor. Or if a more “growthy” style of investing appeals to you more, then any of Peter Lynch’s books.

As for what to do about the stocks you’ve already bought, DO NOT ADD MORE MONEY. Instead, keep them as reminders that you failed to do your homework before you bought them. One of these days --maybe-- they’ll recover. Or maybe they won’t. Who knows? Meanwhile, just regard them as very expensive warnings not to jump into things you don’t understand.