Nilvest 1Q21 update

Saul’s board has been fantastic to learn and grow as investors. I have been regularly visiting and occasionally posting for a few years now and I owe a great deal to Saul and this board for training to achieve life changing returns.

For my personal progress tracking (which has been slowly evolving as well), I have settled on quarterly tracking for about a year now. With that, I hope to make this quarterly report to share going forward.

A quick background on myself. Based in the SF Bay area, I am an engineer by education, marketer by profession and an investor by passon. Technology / health care / consumer are areas of most interest to me. Though I do not have much experience in the IT / software industry, being in the semiconductor / electronics / telecom world, I get the concepts at a high level. In healthcare, I try to avoid pharma or biotech and generally gravitate to med-tech or medical device type businesses that are somewhat less dependent on the binary outcome of the FDA approval process.

Now to portfolio update.
2018 return: 38%
2019 return: 45%
2020 return: 204%

2021 1st Q return: 0%

Yes, after seeing 28% YTD up in mid February, my portfolio was exactly at break even at the end of the day on 3/31, for which I feel lucky compared to most of the tech investment results.

Current positions with %allocation (% at the end of Dec 20)
CRWD 22.5% (27%)
NARI 11% (3%)
PINS 10% (5%)
ROKU 8% (14%)
DDOG 4% (7%)
SNOW 4% (1%)
LSPD 4% (0%)
ICAD 4% (2%)
SQ 3% (9%)
TDOC 3% (8%)
TWLO 3% (0%)
ZS 2% (2%)
ASAN 2% (2%)
UPST 2% (0%)
OPRX 2% (0%)

Beyond these, I have multiple small positions that I am looking to either increase or eliminate in next few months. They include Zoom, Magnite, Voyager digital and Pubmatic that are familiar to this board to various extent. I also hold a few positions in microcap, see bucket 4 info below.

My approach to investing has been evolving like most of us here. I put investments into following buckets.