Nvidia - my deep dive

Hi everyone

This is my first attempt at a deep dive, so would welcome feedback. Its not super easy to post in its entirety here, but if you think it would be helpful, I could probably try.

The point is for me to understand what the company does, which tides might be lifting their boat, competition, and a basic DCF to understand what value the market is putting on growth and margins.

https://gregnz.github.io/stocks/NVDA.html

I’ll start doing this with other stocks (probably ANET next, but could be persuaded!).

Let me know if this is useful, and particularly if theres anything I’ve missed, screwed up, or could clarify.

cheers
Greg

43 Likes

I have looked at the nvidia shield tv for a while. Seems to get high marks and good reviews.

Many TVs are “smart” and preloaded with apps for netflix and amazon video. But i have preferred a dedicated streaming device for easier navigation and better quality streaming.

I had a few Sony Android TV boxes and Amazons FireTv, and now have a Sony UHD 4k bluray android tv streamer.

Downside to Shield is it does not play 4k bluray disks…streaming device only. My Sony player does play discs, but not a hub for gaming. Trade-offs.

Shield has optional gaming controller and 2 neat tie-ins for games. 1. You can basically cast your nvidia-enabled gaming PC to your big screen with minimal latency. 2. You can use the GEForce streaming gaming service. Basically this is cloud-based gaming paid via monthly subscriotion fees.

*note you should be able to use GEForce Now on any PC, even those without an expensive gaming pc with expensive graphics card. Advantage of Shield TV is being able to play those games on your big screen tv.

Shield may seen odd for NVIDIA…but they are both helping to create a game-streaming market and injecting themselves into the entertainment hub of the home. It is actually a great hedge if cloud gaming explodes as less PCs with graphics cards would be needed in theory.