Opera (OPRA)

Hi everyone! Inspired by Bear’s suggestion to continue “finding the opportunities” available in the current investing climate, I wanted to present my first company analysis to the board. I hope you like it!

I’m a digital test prep tutor (think SATs, ACTs, GREs, you name it), and in this line of work, I’ve come across a lot of consumer-facing tech products. Some of these products are absolutely indispensable (cough Zoom), while others are nice to have but not entirely necessary.

One tech niche that, frankly, I’d taken entirely for granted is web browsers. I’ve been a Chrome user for years now, and I think of it as more a utility than anything else – it does what I need it to do, and that’s where my consideration of its value ends. It never occurred to me that web browsing was even a “market,” in the traditional sense of the word.

So imagine my surprise when I learned that there’s a browser out there growing like a weed! Opera (OPRA) has carved out a fascinating segment of the web-browsing market, and it is with great enthusiasm that I present it to all of you as my newest investment idea.

AT A GLANCE

Price: $6.16
Market Cap: $733 million (119.1 American depositary shares outstanding)
TTM Revenue: $423.2 million
Revenue (last 4 quarters): 61.7, 93.7, 129.6, 138.2
% Revenue Growth (last 4 quarters): 55%, 119%, 158%, 177%
P/S Ratio: 1.7
EPS (TTM): $.36
P/E Ratio: 17.1
Total Cash: $216 million

WHAT THEY DO