OT: The Orb for Alternative Energy

Lots of folks here talk about alternative energy sources. I’m not an expert in this area at all, so I mainly read. But a few months ago, I posted in response to an alternative energy source post a link to my neighbor’s alternative energy production company → https://arcindustries.co

We have been looking at this contraption that our neighbor designed, built and deployed in their front yard for the past year or so, and it finally disappeared. When we asked where it went, we learned that it has been deployed at the Burlington, VT airport as a pilot to see if it works as described.

Here’s a link to the article that describes The Orb and what the folks in VT are hoping it does for them.

https://vermontbiz.com/news/2022/november/02/bed-deploys-orb-wind-turbine-btv-pursuit-net-zero-energy

Not sure if anyone here has any thoughts / input on this, but I thought I would share. If our young entrepreneur neighbor (still living with Mom) makes a ton of money on these things, then maybe he will be able to actually move out to his own place :wink: We’re actually happy that we don’t need to look at the thing any more!!

Cheers!
'38Packard
==> To Orb or Not to Orb, that is the question

5 Likes

As with so many alternative energy ideas (wind, solar, geothermal, tidal, etc.) the question is: What is the capital investment to install the generator? How much power does it produce? How long would it take to break even with non-renewable energy sources?

Wendy

1 Like

From the linked article: