Pluralsight (PS)

Pluralsight is a company focused on technology training, they call themselves the enterprise technology learning company. They had an IPO the first part of 2018. I did a search on this board to see if its been discussed before, and HiTechGuy made a post in July, 2018. In the post he has an in depth article he found on the S1.

https://discussion.fool.com/pluralsight-33119892.aspx?sort=whole…

The company has two earnings releases since, both of which have me interested in this company, and I have started a position.

I have a subscription to Bert’s site, and he has a couple of articles on PS and likes them.

Pluralsight made a transition back in 2017 to more of a business focus from individual sales. In the transition, they spent more on Sales and marketing, causing their margins to turn south. They are now getting rewarded for the investment, and are starting to scale, so all margins are improving rapidly.

The Numbers

Revenue growth (%)

2016 22 (full year)
2017 27 (full year)
2018 34 38 42

net retention rate in 2017 of 117%

2Q18

Rev. 53.6 (38%)
Billings 65.3 (+42%)
Gross margin 76% (vs 74%)
Oper. margin -30% (-27%)
net retention rate of 125 (up from 120 last quarter)

2018 Rev. guidance of 222-225 M

https://seekingalpha.com/article/4195375-pluralsight-inc-ps-…

3Q18

rev. 61,6 (+42%)
billings 72.2 (+44%)
Gross margin 77% (vs 75%)
oper. margin -21% (vs -35%)
FCF % of rev. -1% (vs -16%)

2018 rev. guidance raised to 231 M
2019 rev. guidance of 310 M

https://seekingalpha.com/article/4214115-pluralsight-inc-ps-…

TAM

*company says 24 B and expanding

• more workers changing jobs will require more training
  • less apprenticeship because of employee movement → more training
  • technology is changing faster than ever —> more training

Competitive advantage

• cites ROI of 295% over 3 years
  • PS is cloud based, training can happen anywhere from any device
  • have added skill assessments, so companies can see deficiencies
  • in 150 countries