Rambus Technology - 2018 double?

I’m just beginning to look at this company. They have license agreements with a technology start up called Gigajot. Gigajot was formed by Dr. Eric Fossum. He’s not exactly a household name, but he’s the guy who invented CMOS imaging technology. CMOS imaging is the fundamental cornerstone of digital photography which is now as ubiquitous as smart phones.

Dr. Fossum, along with a few other researchers has developed a new imaging technology which appears to be as commercially accessible as CMOS imaging but with orders of magnitude improvements, especially related to extremely low-light situations, as well as extraordinary resolution levels. Here’s a short article about it from Kurzweil Science and Technology News:

http://www.kurzweilai.net/a-breakthrough-low-light-image-sen…

And here’s a press release from Rambus:

https://www.rambus.com/imaging-innovator-gigajot-licenses-bi…

Here’s a link to the investor relations page for Rambus:

http://investor.rambus.com/investor-home/default.aspx

I’ve not dug in on this yet, but from the very superficial look at Rambus that I’ve taken so far:

• Rambus IPO, 1997
  • Rambus is both GAAP and non-GAAP profitable (MRQ).
  • 2Q17 Revenue, up (YoY) 24% at $94.7M
  • 800 employees
  • Hold a rich IP portfolio
  • NASDAQ: RMBS
  • Dec 22 close, $14.31 (-0.56%)

I welcome assistance in investigation and analysis, but to me (first blush) this looks like it might be a double for 2018 with a enormous future growth potential.

8 Likes

Oops . . .

It appears that my human qualities are on display, I have made a significant mistake regarding a key factor. I thought (based on the Kurzweil article which I may not have read carefully enough) that Gigajot has licensed the technology from Rambus for development. Well, that’s 180 degrees out of phase from my initial impression. Rambus holds the patents and they have licensed them back to Dr. Fossum so that he may exploit the technology he developed at Gigajot.