Semi-OT: TX drunk drivers to pay child support if kill parent/guardian

It is a problem in the US. Should be nationwide.


Good idea. More states should do that.

1 Like

The problem is in getting them to pay. The legal system currently allows you to sue a drunk driver for the damages of losing the services of a parent or guardian. Of course, many drunks are poor and “judgement proof”.

Sounds like another “Messinging Bill” – thoughts and prayers.



Therein lies the interesting part. If you are smart, and have car insurance, make sure to have “other driver uninsured and/or underinsured liability coverage”. That way, if the person can’t pay, you collect from your insurance company and THEY GO AFTER THE DRIVER to recover their payout.


Sure. But that coverage is pretty expensive. I’ve never bought.


Interesting. I used to ALWAYS carry it, because you never know… And it was not expensive (IMO).

“In Minnesota, your policy must include at least $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident for bodily injury liability caused by uninsured or underinsured drivers. May 1, 2023”

It’s not going to be expensive for $25,000 or $50,000 worth of coverage. But if a drunken driver disables you, the value of the payout would be in the $$ MM. That’s the kind of coverage that’s expensive.


1 Like

Michigan is a “no fault” state, meaning your own insurance pays you.

Of course, if the injured party is a pedestrian, bicyclist, or any other way not-in-a car, they don’t have insurance. Michigan also requires drivers carry liability insurance for medical and property in their car insurance. But, in spite of the reform a few years ago, Michigan still has some of the highest rates in the country, so a lot of people buy insurance long enough to get their new car registered, then cancel the insurance and never renew the registration.


This law splits in two the results. There is the drunk who has the money and it is forfeit.

There is the drunk who was the deadbeat all along. You cant get blood from a stone.

Minnesota is also a “no fault” state. You collect from your own insurance and they chase the deadbeat. THAT IS THE POINT.

If you are a pedestrian, etc–if you own a car, you have car insurance. Still works. YOU do NOT have to be driving to be in a car accident. So, COVERED–because the insurance is paid IF THE DRIVER who is liable does NOT HAVE INSURANCE or DOES NOT HAVE ENOUGH INSURANCE.