SF Bay Area on Shelter in Place order

At midnight last night, the entire SF Bay Area was ordered to Shelter in Place. There are more than 7 million people in the SF Bay Area. AAPL SQ TWLO OKTA COUP GH WORK FSLY ROKU GOOG FB MDB ESTC CRWD PAYC ZEN ZS TSLA SPLK NVDA INTC NKTR MDB WORK ZM and the list goes on and on and on. The majority of the SaaS companies are here.

This means that at least until April 7th all these companies’ employee are ordered to stay home. It’s a pretty big deal and it will certainly affect the results of these companies for at least a quarter.

Chris

18 Likes

I’ve been working in IT from my home office for over 25 years. The idea behind “cloud” is that you don’t have to be there. Quite simply, the WWW changed the work paradigm forever. SaaS, at least the ones that took precautions, should not be overly affected.

Denny Schlesinger

14 Likes

It’s a pretty big deal and it will certainly affect the results of these companies for at least a quarter

For engineering tasks, that is a lower impact, because most of what we do (am engineer) can be done pretty easily working from home. Tasks we do: Reading and writing specifications documents, discussing plans and designs, writing code or designing logic and circuits, all of that is pretty easy at home IF you have a large monitor like you should have at work. Online meetings are easy, video or not. We can talk, display our monitors with slide sets and documents.

My employer (one of those you listed above) has already given permission for employees to take monitors and other personal scale computing equipment home. And we have a huge server farm with Linux servers upon which we do our designing and simulation testing. So we can do our Windows kind of tasks and our heavy lifting both from home.

Factory, shipping and receiving, face to face things, those will be hit hardest.

Best to all.