Store Report: New Skechers Outlet

Dear Skechers Fans,

A new Skechers Outlet store opened near my home recently and so I decided to make a trip over there tonight to check it out.

When I first noticed the store a few days ago, I was excited that there is a stand alone Skechers outlet in the area. I purchased 2 pairs of Skechers sandals last summer that are favorites, and my impression of the shoes is that they are a good value. I am a fitness instructor and I have plantar fascitis, and I have big feet. Fit and comfort are always issues and I only buy shoes when they are a very good match for my feet.

So, I was a little bit skeptical that I would buy anything, but I wanted a good look around. Also I don’t really need any shoes.

This outlet store is not located near an outlet shopping center, (the other Sketchers outlets are by outlet malls). This is a standalone near a large mid-range shopping mall, but it is a block over near a Fashion Plaza type strip mall. The area is very heavy with retail. The store has good presence from the street and nice, noticeable signage. There is a bus stop immediately in front of the store.

The inside of the store is self-serve, although there are sales associates available to help. The store is very brightly lit, with racks of shoes and on the perimeter, shoes stacked all the way up to the ceiling. The racks in the center are low so you can see all around the store easily. The music was very upbeat pop music, and so with the bright lights the store has a high-energy (but not obnoxiously so) feel.

I was greeted by a sales associate and found out that the store has been open approximately one month and it has been busy since opening. The store is running a BOGO (that’s buy one, get one 1/2 off) sale.

So, I went about trying to find some shoes to try on.