Surgeons Transplant Pig Kidney Into a Patient, a Medical Milestone

If there’s a paywall, the important thing to know is that surgeons have successfully transplanted a pig kidney into a human patient for the first time, raising the possibility of replacing dialysis with kidney transplants. This is big because there’s a massive shortage of kidneys available for a rather large waitlist.

TMDX is currently trialing its kidney OCS which may still take a few years but I imagine they’ll be highly interested in the ramifications of this milestone. I would think this means the kidney market just got a lot bigger for TMDX if the pieces continue to fall in the right place.

I’m no expert in medical science so I welcome more enlightened people to weigh in on what this means for TMDX and the kidney transplant market.

16 Likes

I’m not so sure.

The value that $TMDX adds is making longer-term storage of an organ feasible.

Thus $TMDX is MORE valuable the LONGER the organ needs to be stored, and vice-versa: if the organ does not need to be stored for long, then $TMDX is less relevant.

If pig kidneys are proven out and widely accepted as replacements for human kidneys, I imagine the relevant logistics will evolve such that a pig kidney is always readily available via strategically located distribution centers. That will REDUCE the amount of time the kidney needs to be stored, and will thus make $TMDX less relevant.

–intjudo long $TMDX, micro position

12 Likes

Ditto for when organs are successfully grown and implanted from stem cells.

Will AI accelerate that process? Seems like it could. How long before there’s a digital twin of the human body that could predict points of failure in an organ transplant?

How long before I’m signing a waiver to create a digital twin of MY OWN body to test such things?

JabbokRiver
Organ Donor
No position $TMDX

5 Likes

Obligatory movie reference:

7 Likes

First of all, anything that potentially saves more lives is a positive development.