The Cloud, Big Data, Data bases, Analytics-

Part of the reason we are all here is because we see the long term potential in the current technology trends. I see a lot of discussion on this board regarding who has the best technology. Because I am a retired IT professional I find the discussion interesting. Nothing like really knowing the companies you have put your hard earned money into.

I suggest that getting to deep into the weeds may impair your investing returns. I have found that who is taking market share is more important than who makes the best mouse trap. The company that best manages margins usually beats the company that has the sweetest code.

Pay attention to both sides of the equation. In a famous Silicon Valley meeting between Gates and Jobs where the two were discussing dominance in the PC market Jobs blurted out that his technology was better than Gates’s. To which Gates responded, “It doesn’t matter”.

44 Likes

Pay attention to both sides of the equation. In a famous Silicon Valley meeting between Gates and Jobs where the two were discussing dominance in the PC market Jobs blurted out that his technology was better than Gates’s. To which Gates responded, “It doesn’t matter”.

Hyde:

Great quote and so very true with numerous examples throughout history like QWERTY keyboard dominance, VHS over Betamax, gasoline vs battery automobiles, etc.

This has traditionally been explained through the S curve of technology adoption as explained by Foster back in the 1980’s and Everet Rogers who coined the term early adopters and paved the way for the classic Moore’s chasm. Rogers believed the better technology would always win…plain and simple.