Threat to Sue

Hi Everyone, apologies to Saul if this is off the reservation, but I can’t think of a more knowledgable board to post this question. In addition, I assume this situation isn’t entirely unusual, so it might be interesting and informational for folks in the event you run into a similar encounter.

My mother received a ‘Notice of Litigation and Demand Letter’ from a law firm representing the ‘Trustee’ of the ‘Chapter 7 Estate’ of ATP Oil & Gas, an offshore drilling platform company that declared bankruptcy a couple of years ago after Deepwater Horizon (not involved, but were shut down like others pending the investigation).

The letter demands that my mother turn over a paltry sum of ATP stock dividend receipts she received over a short period just before Chapter 11 was filed. There were apparently 1.7 million shares issued, so a bunch of investors are presumably getting the same letter.

I’m not a lawyer (obviously, and don’t play one on television…), but I find it obnoxious that this creditor(?) is going after investors that have no culpability in the matter.

A quick search revealed that these letters are a common ‘shot across the bow’ correspondence, so I recognize that they’re hoping to intimidate people into sending them checks. The lawsuit is also real - looked it up: Rodney Tow v. T. Paul Bulmahn (former ATP CEO), so not a scam.

So the question is, how does one respond (if at all)? My mother retaining a lawyer will cost more than the demanded $199 (they’re actually willing to settle for $99), and likewise, procuring it from my mother will cost the Trustee more in legal fees than it’s worth. My mom could just send the $99 and be done with the harassment, but she finds the threatening letter so distasteful that she’s disinclined to do so.

Any guidance/insight is appreciated from those in the know…

• Khleb
4 Likes