Who is end-user as indicator of long-term growth

Hi all,

Short-time lurker (June?), first time poster. Before anything else, I’ll echo the commonly shared sentiment that this is a haven on the internet and the stuff of dreams to have such a talented, knowledgeable and generous set of folks openly sharing their best ideas. I’m immensely grateful.

I’m fairly new to this style of investing, but having now watched the aftermath of AYX’s slowdown and FSLY’s missed earnings, I’ve had a nagging thought rattling around in my head. I’m intrigued by the interplay of who the end-user for our technology companies are and how the tech-savviness of the end-users affects the moat or durability of growth opportunity for our companies. In short, the thesis I’m exploring is this:

Tech companies that build tools for non-code based employees or consumers enjoy enduring competitive advantages due to their user base’s resistance to learning new software or technology.

Conceptually, this makes sense to me. If I am used to gmail’s user interface, a competitor must not only make a superior product, but it must be so superior as to justify my investment in relearning. This is even more so for a company considering a broad user base. Change management is costly and painful, so a software change must be clearly worthwhile not just on the basis of cost but also usability. If a technology is used primarily in the background by developers, engineers and IT teams, the users may be more nimble in finding cheaper or alternative solutions that eat away at the company’s high margins. Additionally, these companies where developers are the customers may be more prone to surprises in their earnings. As an outside investor, I might be less equipped to identify when decelerating growth is on the horizon.