Why I bought LSPD (yesterday)

Please forgive this rough-cut take; I’m just starting out learning about $LSPD. Except where noted, these are all my words (not quotes from anyone at $LSPD).

I bought into LSPD because I think they are executing on an audacious vision, which seems to be to provide value to, and derive profit from every single step in every process involving Retail products getting manufactured, placed into stores and sold.

To do this, they have deployed a system that uses proprietary APIs and in-store “payments” functionality as a gateway into an ecosystem. The ecosystem is architected from the ground-up to collect and normalize data, and then reflect it back to all actors in every link in the ecosystem’s chain, in a way that can be monetized. They aim to have “the largest set of data you can find in retail or restaurant.” (President/CEO’s words). With this data, and the capability to analyze and present it in real time, they are building a Network Effect because they can triangulate and match the needs of “Brands”, Stores and Consumers.

Here are some examples of what they are doing:
→ Informing Manufacturers (“Brands”) which specific stores they SHOULD have product placed in, and which specific products WILL SELL in specific regions/stores.

→ Informing “Brands” of Consumer trends in real-time; in Apparel for example: which fabrics are selling, which styles, which patterns, in which regions/stores.

→ Informing Stores: which products they SHOULD be stocking. They can even inform Stores when they can INCREASE PRICES e.g. if their macro-analysis shows that there is high demand for particular items.

So in other words they can tell Sellers what to order, how much to order, what to charge and who will buy it! And they can tell Manufacturers what they should Manufacture, and in what quantities!