Zscaler, office 365 and solarwinds

I’ve read a number of different accounts of the variety of ways the solarwinds breach occurred. Once tidbit that jumped out to me is that Microsoft resellers were breached, and through that breach the hackers were able to read office 365 emails of the resellers customers. Microsoft offers the following explanation.

Microsoft told CRN that if a customer buys a cloud service from a reseller and allows the reseller to retain administrative access, then a compromise of reseller credentials would grant access to the customer’s tenant. This abuse of access would not be a compromise of Microsoft’s services themselves, according to the company.

IMHO allowing resellers administrative access seems like a giant security no no. I can’t believe that any security minded company would allow such a thing but I have zero experience to know how widespread that sort of practice is in the real world.

I read through zscaler’s security bulletin here, https://www.zscaler.com/blogs/security-research/zscaler-cove… . My interpretation is that zscaler provided partial coverage but they had to do some late night tweaking to cover it all. CRWD’s technical blog post read much more like, “this wouldn’t have been a problem if people had been using crwd”.

Anyways, to finally get to my question. Does anyone know if the resellers customers had been using Zscaler if that would have limited the reading of office 365 emails? My limited understanding suggests no…but as I said…limited.

thanks,
Ethan

https://www.crn.com/news/security/microsoft-s-role-in-solarw…
https://www.crn.com/news/security/crowdstrike-fends-off-atta…

15 Likes

IMHO allowing resellers administrative access seems like a giant security no no. I can’t believe that any security minded company would allow such a thing but I have zero experience to know how widespread that sort of practice is in the real world.