Something Has to be Said

This subject has been rolling around in my head for several weeks and I’ve finally decided that it is time to share my thoughts in writing.

I’ve been investing for about 40 years now and am dating myself by confessing to subscribing to Louis Rukeyser’s newsletter of Wall Street Week fame many years ago. At times I have wandered in the investment wilderness trying out various investment newsletters but having returns that were no better than the indexes.

When the Motley Fool newsletter was first put out by the Gardner brothers, it was an oasis in the desert for me. But my returns were still only slightly better than my past experience.

Three years ago there was a breakthrough for me that has significantly boosted my returns and my confidence, and began teaching me how to evaluate companies financially. That breakthrough was when I first began reading posts by Saul. He struck me as an independent thinker that did his own research with a simple common sense approach that I have learned to appreciate as the years go by. This approach gave him enough conviction and backbone to take on another board (WPRT) when he challenged conventional thinking about the wisdom of continuing to hold this great story stock. He went through a firestorm of criticisms for his trouble but stuck by his guns…those that listened to this lone voice profited nicely. Those that did not…well, you can see the story for yourself in the charts.

Not only has Saul’s investment analysis style been the best I’ve ever come across after 40 years, but also the most profitable.

Saul then took the next step by setting up his own discussion board, which cast further light on the “secrets” of his investment style. He condensed his years of experience in “Saul’s Investing Discussions”. I was ecstatic. Then the most amazing unselfish thing occurred:

SAUL BEGAN SHARING HIS MONTHLY BUYS AND TRADES WITHIN HIS TOTAL PORTFOLIO.