Ambarella (AMBA) mid-quarter review

Ambarella (AMBA) mid-quarter review

Let me preface by emphasizing that I am not a techie, and therefore what I am giving on my own very inexact impressions, which may definitely include misunderstandings. Besides which, Ambarella is much more difficult to analyze than some of the others I’ve done these reports on.

Who is Ambarella?
This company was founded in 2004 and is headquartered in California. It develops products for video that enable high-definition (HD) video capture, sharing, and display worldwide. Their system-on-a-chip puts video processing, image processing, audio processing, and other functions onto a single chip for delivering high image quality with low power consumption. It delivers products for wearable sports cameras (GoPro, etc), automotive aftermarket cameras, security cameras, personal (think police, etc) cameras, and drone cameras, among others. They also have products to manage IP video traffic, broadcast encoding and transcoding, and IP video delivery in the infrastructure market. The company sells its solutions to original design manufacturers (whatever they are) and OEMs.

What is your history with them?
I first took a position in AMBA about two and a half years ago at about $13 and $16, but I haven’t been in them all the way, having been out from time to time for reasons I don’t currently remember.

Don’t chip manufacturers become commoditized?