An Analysis of eSports

With all the talk of CES and the Motley Fool reporting and recommending stocks like $ATVI for their potential growth in an up and coming eSports sector (among other reasons), I thought now would be a perfect time to give my insight on this rapidly growing market.

First with some information on myself. I am an 18 year old senior in High School. I have been playing video games for a long time, probably since I was about 10 years old or so. I have played World of Warcraft, Call of Duty, League of Legends, Minecraft, and Counter Strike: Global Offensive extensively, as well as being an avid fan of watching any type of professional video games, even those which I have not played.

What are eSports?

ESports, short for electronic sports, refer to a competitive sport played on an electronic platform or video game.

Not all popular video games are conducive to an eSports environment. The two games that account for the majority of eSports at the moment are Counter Strike (CSGO) and League of Legends (LoL). Games like Minecraft and World of Warcraft, while incredibly popular, don’t conduce to eSports because they are not competition based games. People don’t naturally realize how much teamwork, communication, and individual talent is required to play competitive video games. Let me tell you. It takes a lot of all. I think communication, strategy, and teamwork is more important in CSGO than in basketball (I play Varsity Basketball by the way). Some teams practice more than 16 hours a day (Yes, 16 hours!) when preparing for the playoffs. Hard work and dedication is necessary for success just as it in in athletic sports.