Apple Pay Cash

I don’t know how much revenue Square derives from its P2P payment service or Paypal from Venmo. I’ve never used them before myself.

I did just upgrade to iOS 11.2 which offers Apple Pay Cash.

It is a slick as a baby seal!

Just sent my brother $1 to test it out. Super easy.
This anecdote likely has no investing use, but just thought I’d share.

Here’s a link showing how it works. It was much easier to set up as I already had Apple Pay working.

http://www.businessinsider.com/how-to-use-apple-pay-cash-201…

Pretty killer option if you ask me.

Take care,
A.J.

5 Likes

AJ thanks for posting.

This worried me enough to hold back from investing in PPAL (beyond the indirect exposure via my Internet ETF) and choosing to invest in Square instead. I see Apple Pay Cash more useful perhaps in a P2P way ie competing with Venmo rather than commercial payment transactions like Square.

Having said that, the level of partnerships PayPal has achieved for itself and Venmo worldwide in the last few months has been incredible and I would be less worried about the Apple threat now than I was 6 months ago.

Whilst Apple Pay maybe embedded in the OS I don’t think it means for instance that the Chinese are going to stop using WeChat pay and AliPay with their mobile phones. I just don’t see the Apple ecosystem as so hardwired as that. If it was then they might attract anti-trust attention the way Microsoft did when it had to separate the operating system with office software suite.

I’ve had an Apple phone for 2 years and I have never used the Apple Pay/Wallet or any payment facility for transactions at all - only for ticket/boarding pass document storage.

Oh and now that the lastest Apple OS (Sierra admittedly) has been shown to be insecure it kind of makes Apple Pay tied into mobile OS a potential worry/liability I would think.

Ant

2 Likes