Are IRA Withdrawals Considered Income for Social Security?

I clicked on a link to the following Investopedia article. Avoid Overpaying Taxes on IRA Distributions
Near the end of the article the following paragraph appears.

Are IRA Withdrawals Considered Income for Social Security?

No, IRA withdrawals are not considered income for Social Security, meaning it won’t impact how much your Social Security is taxed.

Is the above Investopedia paragraph in error? If not, is TurboTax erroneously calculating that 85% of my Social Security income is taxable?

1 Like

I am not a tax expert by any means, but if the IRA withdrawal is from a regular IRA that requires you to report as income, then it is also income for determining how much of your SS is taxed. If the IRA withdrawal is from a Roth IRA and not reportable as income, then it has no affect on your SS tax obligations.

Note that not all regular IRA withdrawals are taxable (not to the extent you have basis) and not all Roth IRA withdrawals are not taxable (account not open long enough or otherwise non-qualified and after following ordering rules.

IRA withdrawals are not earned income and no SS tax is due on them.

I suspect that the source you quoted is confused or an editor inadvertently omitted something.

Regards, JAFO

7 Likes

Yes, it is in error, unless it’s specifically talking about withdrawals of after-tax money. (I will point out that the subtitle on the article says “If you have after-tax money in your IRA, don’t pay taxes on it twice” so it’s not clear what type of withdrawals they are talking about when they answer that question.)

The SS website Benefits Planner | Income Taxes And Your Social Security Benefit | SSA makes it clear that taxability of your benefits is based on your AGI, plus non-taxable interest, plus 1/2 of your SS benefits: