Arista deep dive

Hi all,

My second ‘deep dive’, this time Arista Networks.

https://gregnz.github.io/stocks/ANET

Although I’m a tech guy, I haven’t looked into networking much, so took a bit longer to (sort of) get my head around the concepts, so includes a bit of a networking primer if thats of interest.

I’ve also added in a quick “Porters 5 forces” section, and would be interested if people think other sorts of analyses could be useful here.

I always find the reverse DCF the most interesting part of the deep dive, ie, what the market is pricing in right now. Be interesting to see what happens next week!

Please let me know any thoughts, and ways I could improve these going forward.

cheers
Greg

78 Likes

That’s an absolutely awesome post. Unemotional… clear plain language. Really nice work!

M

1 Like

Great post and summary.

One trend that i think needs more exploring is SD-WAN.

Arista does not try to be a playet in this space and instead touts their tech/sw as a better approach.

A possible reality i see is that growth in the enterprise can be limited due to the existing/massive cisco footprint in almost every large enterprise customer out there. Entire networking teams with ccie credentials support these cisco investments. So it is not as simple as “roll out arista switches and start doing SDN”.

Cisco does a great job protecting its monopoly by controlling the narrative.
When SDN first rolled out, Cisco saw the threat and pushed hard to their proprietary ACI tech. They leveraged client roadshows with partners like redhat openstavk and netapp and touted benefits of ACI.

Now they have jumped on the SDN bandwagon via sd-wan and their acquisition of Viptela.
VMware similarly bought a major player in Velocloud.

This is a great hedge for them…and how they control the narrative:
https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/solutions/enterprise-networks/…