Austin's March 2019 Portfolio Review

Section 1: Sappy Thank Yous
Section 2: Portfolio Performance, Max Drawdowns, and Geographical distribution
Section 3: Portfolio Allocation
Section 4: Company Info
Section 5: Mistakes

If you don’t care about my sappy thank yous and just want to see investing returns skip to section 2.

Section 1 - Sappy Thank Yous

Mushy Austin here. I have to start by saying thank you. You all have helped educate, inspire, and give me the confidence to take my Foolish investing a step further and really concentrate on only my best 10-15 ideas. A few of you have even been mentors to me. Thank you all so much.

The results since January 2018 have truly been life changing here’s why:

I was on Active Duty in the U.S. Air Force from the time I graduated college in 2011 until June 2018. I really really enjoyed it and I’m so thankful for the life experience I gained from it. When I first joined my fiance (now wife) and I were pretty set on making a 20 year+ career out of it. I loved my job, pay/benefits were great, and if I made it to 20 years (I would have been 42 after 20years), I’d get a pension for the rest of my life. Pretty cool.

But then we had kids and EVERYTHING changed. We had our son in 2015 and our daughter in 2017. Staying on active duty would have meant continuing to move every 2-4 years and me being gone 50% - 60% of the time.

Because we had been investing and saving, we had the confidence to decide for me to separate from Active Duty in 2018 and move to the Atlanta area (closer to our family who’s in Florida). That’s when I joined Slalom Consulting, which is an incredible company. I’ve really enjoyed the work and I’ve also learned about many of the enterprise software companies we focus on here.