BIIB

Hi all,

As most of you in this board I have a position in CELG. I tried GILD as well, but sold out because I agree with Saul. I don’t like their price policy for their Hepatitis C drug.

I’m interested in Biotech and I came across BIIB and learned about their drug investigation for Alzheimer’s disease, that is mass spreading as people live longer. My father died of it.

In this article the three (CELG, BIIB and GILD) are recommend as the best biotech to invest. Has someone made some research in BIIB that wanted to share?

http://m.fool.com/investing/general/2015/04/11/the-3-best-st…

Best

Maria

2 Likes

Hi Maria,

Like you I’m just beginning to learn a little about BIIB. I don’t own any shares. Recently I read a pretty detailed post about early test results of BIIB’s Alzheimer’s drug. It was by another MF member who tracks research in the area.

The takeaway was that BIIB’s drug (aducanumab) is one of a class of drugs that break up and clear amyloid plaques which build up in Alzheimer’s patients. However none of the class definitively improves cognition after clearance of the plaques - they just help prevent progression of the disease. BIIB’s drug showed some evidence of changing cognitive decline in minimal to mild stage Alzheimer’s sufferers, which is a step forward, but still will not help patients in the moderate to severe stage.

BIIB’s drug is the first to show hope of treating patients in the mild to moderate stage. Tests of other drugs in the same class might show similar effectiveness at preventing progression in patients at the same stage. At the end of the day, the drugs might be given as a preventative treatment to patients who show evidence of amyloid plaque build up in the brain but have not shown signs of cognitive decline.