BRK vs S&P - Oct 2023 - 15 Year Chart

S&P thumping BRK in 15 year comparison

2 Likes

This is Jim’s fair value vs price chart he posted on the other board today.

Explains your chart above.

2 Likes

No it doesn’t. Chart is saying brk is currently overvalued a bit.

2 Likes

You see the spike in price at the end of 2008, yes?

Spike is in both S&P index and BRK in 2008 followd by a dip. I have been posting BRK underperformance for a few years now, so not a recent phenomenon due to some spike in 2008.

14 years

2 Likes

Never ending excuses from the loyalists.

SPY didn’t spike in late 2008, but whatever.

You have been posting BRK underperformance for a few years now. You used to post 1, 3, 5, 10, 15 and 20 year performance. Now you only do 15 year. Why is that?

1 Like

What’s stopping you ?

I’ve mentioned this a few times before. I don’t know how to properly compare Berkshire to an S&P Index fund. That’s because for Berkshire, you can invest and let the whole thing ride for all 15 years straight. But for the S&P500 fund, you receive dividends each year and have to pay taxes on it. VOO distributed around 1.5% in dividends, so about a 1/3 of that can’t be reinvested and instead has to be sent to Uncle Sam. Meanwhile, all of Berkshire dividends are reinvested internally to the company. Over 15 years, removing 0.5% of principal each year and sending it to the US Treasury definitely has some effect on the overall return.