Buying stuff is how you beat inflation

“As rich as an Argentine” - how we in Europe saw things fifty or sixty years ago:

Now it’s prices changing weekly, something that is happening all over The West. Usual reason:

But many economists believe Argentina’s inflation is also self-inflicted. In short, the country spends far more than it takes in to fund free or deeply subsidized health care, universities, energy and public transportation. To make up for the shortfall, it prints more pesos.

https://archive.ph/33Jyu

I’m still buying precious metals as we are now told that the RTI here in the UK will be about 18% by 2023:

The rate of inflation will reach “astronomical” levels in the next year according to a leading think tank, with the retail price index, the cost-of-living measure often used by trade unions in pay bargaining, climbing to 17.7%.

The National Institute of Economic and Social Research (NIESR) has said that around seven million households would be living “pay cheque to pay cheque” as high inflation forces the Bank of England to further increase interest rates.

https://www.personneltoday.com/hr/rpi-inflation-forecast-cos…

1 Like

The ‘stuff’ to buy are shares of companies that are growing faster than inflation.

The Captain

3 Likes

The ‘stuff’ to buy are shares of companies that are growing faster than inflation.

The Captain

I’ve pleanty of these as well!

However:

In October of 1929, the stock market crashed, wiping out billions of dollars of wealth and heralding the Great Depression.

Known as Black Thursday, the crash was preceded by a period of phenomenal growth and speculative expansion.

A glut of supply and dissipating demand helped lead to the economic downturn as producers could no longer readily sell their products.

https://www.investopedia.com/ask/answers/042115/what-caused-…

I think that I have all bases covered. If I’m right then I shall be fine, if I’m wrong then I can afford to be wrong.

However: