CloudAtlas’s Quarterly Portfolio Review

CloudAtlas’s Quarterly Portfolio Review

This is my first portfolio review. I post on this board every so often, usually in defense of LVGO or SE, sometimes to comment on lesser followed stocks, but I’ve never done a review before.

First, I want to give you a quick overview of who I am and what my investing journey has looked like. I’m a Consumer Researcher in my early 30’s living in the Bay Area. I was finally able to start saving money in early 2017, but didn’t want to leave it in a low interest bank account. I wanted to find a “side gig,” a source of extra income based something I was already good at. Since my background was in finance, accounting, and economics and because I sort of understood business thanks to an MBA, I figured I should try my hand at stocks!

My first year was primarily focused on Vanguard Mutual Funds and then thematic ETFs, but when I found this board in late 2017, I decided to try out individual stock picking, buying NVIDIA shares after a particularly strong dip. Over the course of 2018, I became more and more comfortable picking stocks, even though I still didn’t really know what I was doing. I made ALOT of mistakes in 2018, but I’m so happy that I made them. I learned a lot from those mistakes, and they led me to finding my own personal investing style. With the help of this board, I learned how to analyze a business, the importance of long-term vision, and investing in leaders, not value. I finally began hitting my stride in 2019, and 2020 has been even better.

My Personal Investing Style