CuriosityStream (CURI) Deep Dive

CuriosityStream (CURI) Deep Dive

I have been following Saul’s board since the beginning, and keep up with almost every post on a daily basis. I seldom post as I feel I usually don’t have much value to add to the high level discussions on the board. This is my first attempt at a deep dive. I hope it is beneficial to you all. I recently initiated a position.

CuriosityStream is an online video streaming service specializing in factual documentaries and entertainment. It’s content includes 3,000 titles and growing, spanning science, nature, history, technology, society and lifestyle. The company has several revenue streams. It sells subscription services directly to consumers for $2.99 per month, or $19.99 per year for HD content or $9.99 per month or $69.99 per year for 4K content. The service is available on most smart TV’s, ROKU, and other streaming devices. CuriosityStream also bundles their original content and sells to other distribution partners. It also receives revenue from corporate sponsorships of its programming.

The company was founded in 2015 by John Hendricks. John was the founder and former Chairman of Discovery Communications, the parent company of Discovery Channel, Animal Planet, TLC and others. He launched Discovery Channel in 1985 and grew it into the conglomerate it is today with operations in 220 countries, with more than 2.5 billion cumulative subscribers. He retired from Discovery in 2014 to focus on this venture.

CuriosityStream currently reaches 13 million subscribers in 175 countries. Management has talked of a mid term goal of reaching 100 million subscribers. It became public in October 2020 through a SPAC. I like it for the following reasons.

1 - It offers a unique product in an industry with significant tailwinds.

2 - It has a proven and experienced management team that has done this before. John Hendricks owns 50.6% of the company and has completed recent share purchases in January and February