For the Optical Networking Crowd

Those of us with holdings in the optical networking space undoubtedly noted a spike in wealth this afternoon. It was a welcome surprise begging for an explanation. Here’s the explanation:

“NeoPhotonics (NYSE:NPTN) jumped 10.7%; Oclaro (NASDAQ:OCLR) rose 5.6%; Acacia (NASDAQ:ACIA) jumped 5.5%; and Applied Optoelectronics (NASDAQ:AAOI) rose 4.1% after a report by Rosenblatt’s Jun Zhang pointed to the tender, part of a project to build 50,000-70,000 40G/100G ports, according to the note…Huawei is likely to take 50% of the order, Zhang says – and it makes up 18% of Oclaro’s total revenue as well as 17% of Lumentum’s and 11% of Finisar’s, Bloomberg says.”

http://tinyurl.com/ycflzs5c

2 Likes

Those of us with holdings in the optical networking space undoubtedly noted a spike in wealth this afternoon. It was a welcome surprise begging for an explanation.

I’m not one of them, but congrats to those who are. I’m a tech dummy, which is a funny thing to say considering how many of my holdings could be considered “tech” companies, though I would beg to differ*. But I know pretty much nothing about networking. So my question is, is there any relation between what Arista builds and what these companies build?

Thanks,
Bear

*I don’t think SHOP is a tech company, I think they’re an online ecommerce company. I don’t think HUBS is a tech company, I think they’re an online brand awareness company. I don’t think…ok fine, Twilio is a tech company.

1 Like

So my question is, is there any relation between what Arista builds and what these companies build? - Bear