How to get started?

I’d like to thank everyone on this board for their generosity in sharing their ideas and their time. It’s much appreciated! This board has a tremendous signal-to-noise ratio. I’ve spent the last couple of weeks reading the last 1000 or so posts. Every one. Did I mention the great signal-to-noise ratio?

For several months, I’ve been thinking that my portfolio is out of whack, that I’d like to concentrate and better balance my position sizes, and that I’d like to learn how to evaluate whether a stock is a good or bad investment. But I didn’t know how to get started. The idea that someone could sustain 30%+ CAGR is amazing! I’d be thrilled with half that. With even a third of that, I could confidently retire today and replace my gross salary. It’s time to get to work on fixing my portfolio and developing my skills.

I’ve been working for 27 years now. The first 25, my investing consisted of stock in my employer (Apple), and market underperforming mutual funds in my 401k (where I maxed out my contributions for all but the first few years). Two years ago, I discovered Stock Advisor and Rule Breakers. Based on some guidelines in one of the Gardner books (The Million Dollar Portfolio, I think), I evaluated a large chunk of the SA and RB universe and picked a couple of dozen to invest in. In May 2012, I sold most of the 401k mutual funds (have to leave a little in the plan’s funds) and started buying those stocks I had picked. I had some cash left over, which I gradually used to buy many of the newer SA or RB picks. I fairly quickly spent all that cash, so now I take my biweekly contributions to buy new picks (mostly SuperNova Odyssey 1). Funny thing is, my original picks seem to have a higher proportion of consistent winners than my new picks.