HTIA (REIT) prospects until rate cuts begin

Good morning, afternoon, evening.

I’ve been holding HTIA stock as an income play for 2-3 years, paying a healthy dividend all the way (>7%). It has always been quiet on the message boards as it is a small, thinly traded stock. Now, I find myself down 20% on the stock price, wondering how long HTIA can continue paying such dividends. The financial discussion doesn’t discuss such a ‘burn rate’ (not sure I would want to if I were CFO). There have been negative discussions regarding its common stock which seem to be related to inability to get out of the stock. The negativity appears independent of the current interest rate cycle, as the comments date back more than a year. Are there other places to go for information relating to how to understand what the next couple of years might hold for a high yielding preferred REIT stock?

HTIA IPO’d on 12/5/19, has a coupon rate of 7.375% and doesn’t appear to have any credit ratings. HTIA Search Results - QuantumOnline.com Considering that other fixed rate preferred stocks issued at the same time (including one from the now failed First Republic Bank, issued 11/25/19) had coupons in the 4.7% - 5.25%, it appears that it was a junk preferred from the beginning, and if the price has dropped because of the increases in interest rates, it’s probably still a junk preferred. If you knew that going in, and were willing to take that risk, that’s okay. If you didn’t understand that, and bought HTIA because of the yield without understanding the risk, I would suggest that you might want to change your processes for picking stocks.

When research preferred stocks, I use www.quantumonline.com a lot. (The link above is the page for HTIA from that site.)