Inari Medical Interim "Flash" Study Re

All,
Inari Medical released interim data from it’s Flash study that looks at the effectiveness of the FlowTriever, mechanical clot removing tool. The data looks pretty good to me. Inari is up 3.7% on the news. Here’s some of the key points:

At 48 hours post procedure, the major adverse event rate and mortality rate were low, at 1.4% and 0.2%, respectively. None of the deaths or major adverse events were device related.

The outcomes were achieved while limiting utilization of hospital resources, with less than 4% of patients receiving adjunctive therapy and a median of 0 days in the ICU post procedure.

https://ir.inarimedical.com/news-releases/news-release-detai…

This is compared to a death rate of diagnosed and treated PE at 8% (Cardiology Review Article).

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3718593/

I am no doctor (and I would love to hear any doc’s point of view on this study), but it seems to me that the FlowTriever would have to be prohibitively expensive for this not to gain wide use.

I’m probably going to pick up a few shares and get restarted, but I’d like to hear from the medical community in case there’s something that I’m missing.

Best,

bulwnkl

4 Likes

Bulwnkl,

This is not my endorsement or rejection of Inari, I just want to point out one thing:

Never, ever take the rosy headline of a biotech or medical device company’s trial results at face value.
You have to read every damn thing yourself and do your own research.
I’d like to think that this approach applies to EVERY stock we want to put in our portfolio, but I feel it is doubly true in the biotech/medical device sector.