My brief investing story

Hi all,

I’m a new poster to this discussion group, but I’ve followed this board avidly for the last few weeks and have read the knowledge base numerous times as well as much of the other excellent material on this board. Thank you to all.

I am a UK investor and I’ve been investing for the last 17 years. I am a member of 2 services of the Motley Fool UK and have followed their stock picks over the last 15 years. My average returns have been around 8% a year, so not great compared to Saul’s returns and that of many others on this board.

At the start of June 2020 I was down 30% year to date, so I joined Stock Advisor USA and purchased some selected companies by selling some of my UK stocks. Then I joined RB and purchased a few more. By mid June I had 33 Holdings which was way too many to follow! Then I stumbled across Saul’s board and read everything on it as much as I could. I’ve even read the knowledge base to my wife each evening, which has helped me understand it still further.

So in mid July I sold all of my Holdings apart from SHOP and AMZN and purchased AYX, ZM, DDOG, CRWD, LVGO, FSLY and TTD.
Then last week after the EC I sold out of AYX at a loss of about 30% as well as out of LVGO after the merger with TDOC (with a small profit). I also sold out of TTD.
Yesterday I trimmed fastly to buy NET for the first time.

Now my Holdings are as follows:
DDOG 21.5%
ZM 21.4%
CRWD 20.1%
OKTA 8.9%
NET 7.3%
FSLY 7.2
AMZN 7.1%
SHOP 6.1%

However, like many on this board I had been expecting share price increases after the recent earnings releases. That hasn’t happened. Indeed I am down another 20% in the past few days.

So I need to rise 20% in the next year to simply be back to where I was a week or so ago. Is that possible do you think?

I wish I had joined this board 8 months ago in Jan 2020 and bought these stocks at much much lower prices.