On Investing Styles and Nutanix

On Investing Styles
I’ve been investing for 20 years, got serious about it 10 years ago, and have been more or less full-time investing for income for 3 years (in addition to other real estate / entrepreneurial ventures). It’s taken me every bit of those 20 years to realize an extremely obvious, but important point. Every investor needs to determine their own particular style of investing.

I know this sounds obvious or cliché, but this point gets lost constantly. Aside from learning fundamentals, every aspiring investor should really view their early years as a means to explore and experiment in determining their particular risk tolerance, interests, holding period, allocation, etc.

And there is no “right” way. The Motely fool recommends 15 stocks for buy and hold. Saul uses a savant-like intuition to dip in and out of hyper-growth companies like a Nascar driver going 200mph. Hell, Tinker sometimes invests in only 2 companies.

The point is, you can’t copy someone else’s style. This leads to frustration, stress, and bad decisions. Not to mention, you can’t reproduce the results long-term.

That said, a bad stock is a bad stock. And a good company, held over time (e.g. AMZN), should produce long-term alpha and tax benefits. But that is boring to me. And I’m seeking extraordinary returns, fully understanding this will bring added stress, research, and risk-taking. I employ an 80/20 allocation: 80% is a concentrated portfolio of hyper-growth equities (usually 5-10), and a 20% trading portion (using options, TA, and trading ranges of companies I study well). I usually funnel the profits from the trading portion into the equity portion and/or take out cash once or twice a year as needed. I’m relatively young, with a diverse set of passive income, so I can handle the risk. And moreso, I love the game! I wake up almost every day excited to learn more about my companies and industries.

On Nutanix

What does all that have to do with NTNX?