On life decisions advice

I received the following question off-board, and have received others similar.

My first question comes from your end of July portfolio post. In it there was a heading “This is not what they taught you in MBA school!”. I am a freshman in college, and I am still trying to figure out what I want to do for my career. This last year of investing has been really intriguing to me, especially this last month on this board. I am now thinking about a career in finance or business. From your post, however, it seems like colleges do not teach the best way to invest, which is the Saul way :wink: That makes me less inclined to study investing in college because I feel like I could learn better information and strategies from reading every highly recommended post on this board than I could in four years of college. What are your thoughts on this? What educational path do you think would best add on to what is taught here? Also just from your general life experience, what career path would you recommend I take (it doesn’t have to be financial)? Any of your insights would be valuable.

My next question is about student loans. Say I have 10,000 invested right now, and tuition will cost me 10,000 this year. Should I take out a loan to cover tuition so I can keep my money invested so I can potentially come out with more? Or is this too risky and basically gambling? I have read your posts on margin and I see how this is very similar, but I was wondering if you think my case is different.

I’m sorry but I just can’t advise people on what to do with their lives. I’m not a Career Advisor. I’m not a Financial Advisor. I’m in no way qualified to answer questions like this. The decision I would make may not be the one you would make. Everyone has to decide things like this for themselves.

Saul

74 Likes

…it seems like colleges do not teach the best way to invest, which is the Saul way :wink: