OT China - An Insider's Review

1) Why bother reading this?
Good question. You may choose not to. It is long. It’s off topic There’s nothing here that addresses specific advice on a specific investment. But, China is now the second largest economy in the world. I am of the opinion that it will be larger than the US economy in my lifetime. If you gain some insight into the way the Chinese think and function, maybe it will help you better understand world-scale macro-economics and thereby make you a better investor. Also, for better or worse, the US stock market often moves in tandem with the Chinese market. China is 12 hours ahead of New York, so when it closes it sets the tone for the NY open. If you find this essay too long and simply not worth spending your time, let me suggest that you read section 2 and then skip down to sections 9 & 10.

2) Who am I, and why do I think I can write about China?
I’m not an expert. I’m not an Asian academic. I’m not an economist. I’m not a Poly Sci major either. I don’t even consider myself an authority on China. And I only speak a limited bit of Mandarin. So, where do I get off providing observations, thoughts and analysis about China? Here are my qualifications.

I first travelled to China in 2007. I’ve been there almost every year since. I generally spend 2 – 3 months out of the year in China. While I’ve traveled in China quite a bit, admittedly, most of my time is spent in and around my wife’s hometown, Guilin. To that extent my views on the Chinese people and culture are primarily taken from my experiences in this particular city. China has about the same land mass as the US and roughly four times the population, although the Chinese population in far more concentrated in urban areas than in the US. But, just as making generalities about the US based on local experience can lead to faulty conclusions, the same goes for China.