Othalan's 2019/Dec. Portfolio Summary

This is my year-end summary for 2019.
Some highlights for this tumultuous year:

• January: up 21.4% YTD
• July 26: up 90.7% YTD
• November 7: up 22.8% YTD (down 35.6% from the high)
• December 31: up 38.6% YTD (year finish)
• Average Annual Return since 2019: up 39.2%

Mistakes were made. Big ones. I learned, I moved on, I will be a better investor in the future for having made those mistakes.

Even with those mistakes and the big drop in the second half of 2019 I am thrilled with my performance this year. I have achieved a rate of return on my investments I never could have conceived of 4 years ago. I have a high degree of confidence that my returns are thanks to a combination of my own personal skill and the mastermind effect of the discussions on this forum, and not any form of gambling. I was able to watch my portfolio drop almost 35% while never loosing a night’s sleep thanks to my confidence in the quality of companies I am invested in and the cushion provided by investing in high growth companies the past few years. I am retired and living comfortably off my investments at an age when retirement is ordinarily never considered.

All thanks to the simple wisdom Saul has so generously shared with the world.

Thank you Saul for your continuing generosity!

On Using Margin

I use margin in one of my investment accounts and put my best ideas there. While I do not recommend the use of margin in general, I am comfortable in its use even through the “SaaS meltdown” we have experienced in recent months. However, I did learn one important lesson this year related to use of margin: Pay attention to my instincts when it seems valuation is getting too high and reduce (or eliminate) my use of margin! In June I began to think this rate of growth was astounding and could not continue, but I stayed fully invested. In July I was certain this rise in price cold not last, but still I stayed fully invested.