PAYC 16Q4 Earnings and Analysis

Hello Paycom investors (or at least investors wanting to learn about Paycom). Like you, I found this company interesting and I’ve decided to offer quarterly earnings analyses, at least for now. But before I dig into Paycom, please let me share a bit about my background.

I was born and raised in New York City and grew up fascinated by the stock market. I’ve worked for several of the Wall Street brokerages, but always as a database engineer (hence the “database” in my handle). That said, part of my job required me to learn the brokerage business – at least the back end. I’ve since moved to Boulder, CO. My undergraduate degree is based on a dual major of Mathematics and Computer Science, with a healthy dollop of Accounting thrown in. I guess you could say I like numbers. I also received an MBA from New York University’s Stern School of Business. Although I majored in Computer Applications and Information Systems (my employer paid for the degree and required that be my major), the school is best known for its Finance classes, and I took those with every elective slot in my curriculum. As I studied and worked, it occurred to me that my REAL skill was “analysis”, and I was just applying that skill in a computer-related setting.

So, now I have the opportunity to exercise those analytical skills in a Finance setting, kind of fulfilling that childhood dream, and also allowing me to keep those skills well-honed as I enter the early years of my retirement. My posts tend to be long, but I hope you’ll find them well-organized, informative, and occasionally amusing.

Please forgive me this time if my analysis is on the shallow side. I’m still learning about Paycom, and I hope my analysis of this company will become more insightful and incisive with time.