Portfolio Update JabbokRiver

AN ANNIVERSARY

December 31, 2022 marked exactly two years for me managing more than one company in a portfolio.

Although I have posted about individual holdings and laid out the other companies I have held from time to time, this will be my first attempt at actually doing a fuller update. Because I am new to investing, and because I imagine many reading this are also relatively new, maybe my journey will help some.

Scroll to the bottom if you just want to see my current holdings.

WHERE I BEGAN

By profession, I am clergy and an author of eight books (nine if you count this post!). I have a pension fund and an annuity that are managed by others, but had never dreamed of owning and managing stock on my own. I am math phobic, so I thought I couldn’t possibly do this. So I left it to others.

In March of 2020, however, when I saw churches dealing with the unprecedented disruption of Covid by holding services on Zoom, I turned to a friend and said, “Someone smart should be buying stock in Zoom.” Most churches are not exactly forward-looking. If they were using it, and they were, it was going to take off. Then I thought, “Why shouldn’t that smart someone be me?”

So I figured out how to open a brokerage account, scraped together every spare dime I could find, and bought 30 shares of ZM for just over $100/share.

You know the Zoom story. Although by the end of the year it was down from its almost $600/share high, I had still done very well. By then I had also changed jobs, from being the ED of a Boston non-profit to going back to serve a local church in the Boston metro area. I had to sell what I had thought was going to be my retirement home on Cape Cod and moved into the parsonage in the parking lot of the church I am now serving.