Pure Storage: A must read article

https://www.forbes.com/sites/patrickmoorhead/2018/01/27/dont…

26 Likes

Yep - kind of what I’ve been banging on about for the last 9 months.
Ant

1 Like

My question is…

Will it get commododized?

My question is…

Will it get commododized?

In time more than likely but it could take a decade or two, not something to worry about specially for agile investors like Saul and Company.

Denny Schlesinger

1 Like

A couple weeks ago I was skeptical of Pure because, in my opinion, of the high S@M costs. This is still a concern of mine, but with all the great information everyone has been posting on Pure, I think I was wrong. There is a lot to like with this company.

One thing that has helped change my mind is their new CEO, Charlie Giancarlo. Former Cisco executive, with an impressive track record, wouldn’t have taken this job unless there was big upside for this company. I think he will be improving the S@M costs in short order. He also sits on Arista’s board.

Similarities with Arista.

Thanks for helping me see the light Ant, Bear, et all.

Jimbo

6 Likes

Pure seams to have some really great tech (hardware and software). Something I want to get more information on is their business model built on Evergreen. It is self described as “To make owning storage as close to experiencing storage-as-a-service as possible – but in your data center.” here is a great link describing the Evergreen service.

https://blog.purestorage.com/why-all-the-buzz-on-evergreen-s…

Could this be their special sauce? Subscription based storage service. Always upgrading, always up to date, scalable, and seamless? Creating a continual base for new and better products. Could this ease some of the commodity concerns?

6 Likes

ill it get commododized?

In time more than likely but it could take a decade or two, not something to worry about specially for agile investors like Saul and Company.

Denny,